a slight delay

A small intro:
This blog is mostly devoted to the journey I am about to embark on – a 57-hour road trip to Saskatoon, Canada and then a 30+ hour venture to Fairbanks, Alaska for schooling. As of 11 days ago, I graduated from Mississippi State University with a degree in Wildlife, Fisheries, and Aquaculture: Pre-Veterinary Medicine Concentration. Over the course of my senior year, I applied to the United States Peace Corps’ Master’s International Program and the University of Alaska Fairbanks for a master’s in Natural Resource Management. 

Here I sit, prompting the journal of adventures that are about to overtake the newest chapter in my life. Closing the previous chapter has been quite the battle. I can’t seem to stop the tears. I know that the end of it all is positive, you know? It means I am moving forward with life… but damn! So much emotion! Anyways, as of today, I was supposed to be in Chicago. 

I’m still in Memphis. 

Basically, Sophie (that’s my Honda CR-V) decided to throw my soft-shell roof top carrier thingamajig onto Highway 45. It went barreling into a corn field. Thank goodness I have crossfit experience, because lifting that thing into my car would have been one helluva task otherwise. I swear it weighs 200 lbs. Unfortunately, Sophie is completely lopsided and I can’t make the 57-hour trek with that thing blocking mirrors and disabling a shoulder check whatsoever… 
The day that happened was also Memorial Day, and EVERYTHING was closed. Day one lost.  
No roof racks were in stock today. Day two lost. 

But tomorrow! Tomorrow! I get to see my Auntie in St. Louis! Tomorrow will be awesome. 
After that, I get to pass through Chicago, and see some people I love dearly. 
Detroit. Ontario… this is going to be so fun! It’s been a bit rough getting here, but tomorrow, I am ready to keep on keepin’ on! 

There is so much to write about, my brain will allow it eventually. But for now, I just wanted to update and start the text on the blog of mine. 

Until tomorrow, 
Peace.

 Image my best friends and i

Leave a Reply

