decisions, decisions

Hello all!

Quite a bit has happened since the last post about The ROM.
On Thursday, my Uncle Brady came home determined to make me the best fish tacos I’ve ever had in my life… MISSION ACCOMPLISHED. The man found corn tortillas (very important for traditional tacos). We had charcoal grilled Basa, a neutral whitefish, chopped cilantro, pickled onion, a slaw mix, a homemade chipotle mayo, fresh jalapeño, and fresh squeezed lime juice over top. It was beautiful. It was perfect. They were undoubtedly the best fish tacos I’ve had in my life.

IMG_3822

Fish. Tacos. Uncle Brady style.

While we were waiting for the fish to grill, I got to try on my Aunt Andi’s Canada Goose parka. If you don’t know about Canada Goose, here is a brief summation:
Canada Goose is a company that started in a small warehouse in Toronto. They proudly hand stitch “Made in Canada” on every single jacket they make. Not to mention, they use Canada goose feathers that have been naturally molted from the birds, rather than plucking feathers from birds that are kept in harsh conditions. They use coyote fur that hasn’t been obtained beyond trapping limits, and it is the best fur for warmth purposes. I was gifted one of these jackets by my sisters for graduation, and I am beyond excited. Look how warm!

Oh, Canada!

Oh, Canada!

Friday was the epitome of productive for a day that is part of a vacation.
I paid a bill I forgot about in Mississippi, I sent in a housing application for Alaska, got my health records sent to them, mailed some post cards and letters, and made some awesome gluten-free pancakes that were smothered in 100% Canadian Maple Syrup.
Seriously, you haven’t had syrup until you’ve had syrup from right up the road.

100% Canadian Maple Syrup. WHAT.

100% Canadian Maple Syrup. WHAT.

After enjoying my pancakes, I just worked on other online stuff and explored some areas around here via Google… eagerly awaiting the shenanigans of Friday night. Friday night was the night that I had been putting off traveling for. BLUE. RODEO. Uncle Brady, Aunt Andrea and I got ready for the concert that happens once a year in this teeny, tiny town. After downing an emergent, Indian-style dish that Uncle Brady whipped up, we were on our way! We walked up to the convention center and joined the other ~1000 individuals of Sunderland, Ontario.

We had to hand them our ticket and were allowed to get it back after the concert. They couldn’t be torn or scanned like a Ticketmaster ticket, and they were really beautiful little pieces of art. So of course, I agreed to not smuggle a ticket in and would patiently wait until the end of the show to get back my scrapbooking memento. When we got in, I met SO many people. I was definitely 100% in my comfort zone though – live music and no cares in the world. Not to mention, I was with people I love very much.

Aunt Andi, Me, and Uncle Brady. They're the best.

Aunt Andi, Me, and Uncle Brady. They’re the best.

Blue Rodeo put on one helluva show too. I was amazed. The venue reminded of one that Music Maker Productions uses all of the time called the Mississippi Horse Park. We had Eric Church, Brantley Gilbert, NEEDTOBREATHE, Pretty Lights, Ghostland Observatory, and 2Chainz (…I could be forgetting one or three) out there during my four years at Mississippi State, and this place felt JUST like that. The floor was dusty and there were cups everywhere.

Felt nice to be in the crowd for once.

Felt nice to be in the crowd for once.

After Blue Rodeo, we came home and I whipped up some mojitos. We then went to hang out with the other night owls in town.

Mojito pro. Thanks Casa Bravo.

Mojito pro. Thanks Casa Bravo.

We were all up really late, indulging on food from the rider that was untouched *!!!veggie trays!!!* (again, serious Music Maker moment right there) and eventually crashed. I love my couch here.

I love my couch here so much that what happened Saturday morning was not really surprising to anyone.
I texted my Mom… and this is why I have the BEST Mommy.

She knew before I texted her. Guaranteed.

She knew before I texted her. Guaranteed.

Then and there, it was decided. I am living in Ontario for the summer!
Saturday, I spent the whole day working on my Ontario Smart Serve. Smart Serve is a certification you have to have to serve alcohol in the province. Uncle Brady made me his famous caesars to help get me through this four hour process. And Oh. My. Goodness. A caesar is like a Bloody Mary, but it’s made with Mott’s Clamato and has a lot more fixin’s.

Uncle B Caesar. YUM.

Uncle B Caesar. YUM.

I also started looking up jobs and polishing up my server resumé. By Saturday night, I had a pretty extensive list of places to distribute my resumé to, which was rather encouraging. Oh! I almost forgot! During the day on Saturday, Aunt Andi and I found something…

It's SO fluffy!

It’s SO fluffy!

These kittens are just too much. We found three, rounded them all up, and are housing them in the sunroom. Happy to say, we just found them all a home! Look how cute?

#model

#model

Uncle Brady made an awesome bonfire Saturday night and we chilled out there for quite awhile. Shae goes, “This is probably going to be a thing now for the summer…” Definitely!

IMG_3890

Sunday afternoon, Shae-Lyn and I went to Whitby and then to Oshawa to hand out my resumes and shop a little bit 🙂 One thing I love about Canada… there are H&M’s everywhere. This is the best store for “I need a quick fix” shopping trips. Cheap, cute, and the product doesn’t instantly fall apart. There was not a lot of luck that day with resumé distributions. Many places were either closed or just really, really kind – but not in need of a server/bartender. Shae and I eventually got burnt out (neither one of us are intrigued by shopping for too long) and came home. I watched this itty-bitty girl crush an ENTIRE foot-long Subway on the way home, and that was ridiculously impressive. We got home, and you guessed it… I had fish tacos. I am pretty sure the Mexican part of me could eat those every single day. I had them Saturday night too – that was supposed to be my “last meal”. HAHAHAHA.

Sunday night, Aunt Andi and I watched “Jobs”. I really enjoyed this movie a lot more than I thought I would. It was neat picking up on all of the Apple Inc. “to be’s”. The iMac, the eMac, the iPod and iPhone… If you don’t know about this movie, “Jobs” is a film that portrays “the story of Steve Jobs’ ascension from college dropout into one of the most revered creative entrepreneurs of the 20th century.” He was the man who founded Apple. A crazy man. But a genius, nonetheless.

Monday morning, I woke up refreshed and ready to to take my resumé to the towns of Uxbridge, Port Perry, and Brooklin. Some were more promising than others, and I landed an interview in Port Perry at a cute restaurant called Harp & Wylie’s Canadian Grill House. It is a waterfront location with an original menu, taking your dining experience anywhere from crab cakes and seared scallops to AAA Ontario steaks and local burger meats. I really like the concept of this restaurant and am hoping for the best! Hopefully, I can land a job there and score some hours at the local place here in Sunderland.

While I was in Uxbridge, I found an Olivia store called Teddy’s Organic Market. I love places like this and could probably read labels in them for hours. I found some local bee pollen that I will be adding to my smoothies until the whole jar is gone. I read somewhere a long time ago that if you supplement with honey or bee pollen from your area, it will help with the seasonal allergies OF that area. Since my allergies are kicking my ass, I figured it couldn’t hurt to try. My bee pollen jar was the first thing on my shelf here at “home” in Sunderland. I unpacked my proteins today and will slowly filter my stuff into my nice little flat here. Words can’t explain my excitement.

After going all over the world yesterday, I went to what they call the LCBO (Liquor Control Board of Ontario). I’ve been wanting to go to check out their gluten-free beer section. Well… they had three beers. So that was nice! No Omission though, which is probably the best gluten-free lager I have ever had in my life. I added some fresh lime to this one, and it wasn’t horrible.

Nickel Brook Brewery.

Nickel Brook Brewery.

There are a few more there, but this one sold me because it was brewed in Ontario. I took a moment to check out the tequila section, for margarita purposes of course… and couldn’t believe how small it was. I think there might have been four actual brands of tequila. This made me a little sad. Alaska will probably be worse.

Tequila probs.

Tequila probs.

I grabbed my Auntie a bottle of 14 Hands Hot to Trot red wine blend for her birthday yesterday! She turned 44 and still looks 34 (the last time I saw her) to me! Uncle Brady made us an awesome Greek-inspired dinner, and grilled me some tofu to have with my Greek salad. I could get used to this. Blaine had some buds over and we chilled by another fire he made. Blaine’s dog Brandy came from his friend Fred, who owns Duke, Brandy’s father.

Brandy, the wild thing.

Brandy, the wild thing.

Fred also held on to one of Brandy’s siblings (Dex) and brought them over to play. Brandy is a mix of Chocolate Lab and Rottweiler, and her brother got all of the chocolate. It was so awesome seeing them run around and play last night. I can’t wait to have my own dog.

Tonight, Shae-Lyn and I are headed back to Uxbridge to get my resumé into a few places that were closed on Monday, and we’re going to this Thai place everyone keeps talking about. I am super pumped about this restaurant. You can look forward to pictures of my Asian dishes tonight. Until then, I am going to go for my first run in 3-4 weeks and am incredibly nervous about it. Wish me luck!

Olivia

Leave a Reply

