broken toes & s’mores

Well hello there…
it’s been awhile! We are under a tornado warning at the moment, so I figured it was no better time than now to start a lengthy blog post!

When I left off the last time, I was headed out for a run. It was horrible. It was hard. I did it! And I did it once more after that. The second run got cut short because there was way too much traffic. I might have the sidewalk to run on, but when it all comes down to it, I don’t trust drivers. When I am out and about as a pedestrian, my anxiety really does reach a new level. My father was tragically killed in a pedestrian accident and that’s the root of it all I suppose. From what I understand, the driver was not intoxicated, nor was he “distracted” – it just happened. Anyways, I am headed to a gym in Port Perry soon… and I won’t be running on Thursday at 2 PM in Sunderland anymore! Hahaha.

That night, Shae-Lyn and I went to that Thai restaurant in Uxbridge that everyone keeps talking about. DANG. It was so delicious. I don’t even know the name of what I got. It had baby eggplants in it, and it was spicy. They also had warm sake there. I love my sake.

"Sake it to me baby... "

“Sake it to me baby… “

My interview at Harp & Wylie’s, while I am thinking about it, went very well… because I landed the job!

Maybe it was the epic superfood smoothie I had for breakfast...

Maybe it was the epic superfood smoothie I had for breakfast…

There was a highly expressive Facebook post about it, but I’ll say it again. I am BEYOND excited about it. This is a young restaurant, and after working with Casa Bravo, I’ve realized that I love the creativity that goes into the start up phase.

The night that I had that interview, Wednesday of last week, Blaine and I took the dogs out for some run fun. We let them off of their leashes in an area where they could play like the children that they are. Let me introduce you to the children.

Chasing the ball at full speed into the water is Gibbs. He is a cross between Shih Tzu and Poodle. Usually, I don’t take to small dogs very well. It might be fairly obvious that I want a wolf dog… But alas! This little guy stole my heart. I have been fighting for his friendship since I got here. We had a snuggle-sesh the other day, and now he is all about some friendship.

Gibbs, the lively Shih-poo.

Gibbs, the lively Shih-poo.

Now, about Zoey or Zoë (according to Shae-Lyn, it depends on who you ask). She is a Miniature Goldendoodle. Therefore, she is a cross between a Golden Retriever and Miniature Poodle. I think she might 66.66% Poodle though. Her nose is longer and her body shape screams Poodle. But! The other 33.33% is most certainly Golden Retriever. Zoey is loyal and loving. She is the mother of the children, I think. I also think she has been around before – like this lifetime ain’t her first rodeo. She will stand on the porch and just watch everything in silence. I have said to Aunt Andi, “She gets it. Whatever it is.”

Zoey. I think she was a cowboy in her past life.

Zoey. I think she was a cowboy in her past life.

Lastly, you’ve seen her before. There is Brandy. Brandy is a Labrottie – a rambunctious blend of Rottweiler and Labrador Retriever. Brandy is about 7 months old and loves shoes. She also loves straighteners, glasses, door frames, rugs, water bottles, bras, everything, everything, everything. And while hollering her name is a necessity 70% of the time, you still can’t help but appreciate the puppy in her. She doesn’t know any better (most of the time), and will grow up to be a prime example of what a good Labrottie should be. Yesterday, we  gave her an empty Kraft peanut butter tub that we had scraped (mostly) clean, and she just looked so adorable trying to lick the inside of it.

Brandy the Great (pain in the ass that we love)

Brandy the Great (pain in the ass that we love)

The next morning, I woke up and made myself some good old-fashioned protein pancakes. My favorite way to make them is blend together 1 whole egg (you can make it vegan by using a flax egg), 1 egg white, 1 scoop of protein (I use PlantHead Vegan Protein), and an overripe banana. Using a food processor works best for these because the egg whites can whip up to create the “fluffy” factor. In a non-stick skillet, I just drop the batter on it and wwaattcchh. Patience is key with these – otherwise they won’t cook through. I added a little 100% Pure Canadian Maple Syrup and paired it with some almond butter from Bulk Barn (the greatest place on nut-lover Earth).

Chocolate protein pancakes <3

Chocolate protein pancakes ❤

The night before, I had started a book I’ve really been putting off. John Green’s “The Fault In Our Stars”. The only reason I have been putting it off is because it apparently makes the reader sad. I stayed up until about 2 AM on the morning of the protein pancakes. I woke up around 9 AM and started reading again. I was crying by 11 AM, and finished the book by 2 PM. I will say this – I am no literary expert. I appreciate a good read, certainly. But I have a tendency to get too involved with the characters and wind up forgetting that it’s not reality. TFiOS was great though. So great, in fact, that Shae-Lyn and I went to Ajax, Ontario to watch it THAT night. Yes, it just released in theaters. No, that’s not why I read it. Shae promised to be my moral support and texted with me through the hard times. We went to an awesome falafel joint called Pita Delights. They kindly made me a falafel salad with baba ganoush. Shae and I followed up with some Starbucks (grab it when/where you can!) which we snuck into the theater via my large, obnoxious purse. TFiOS was great. I cried too much. All I am going to say is this – GO SEE IT.

I got to have a lovely FaceTime conversation with my beautiful and lovely Jessica Tree. They say that you don’t know what you have until it’s gone. I disagree. I know exactly what I had before I left the city of Starkville, MS. I savored every damn moment of it. I miss her terribly.

Waking up the next day presented me with the challenge of actually unpacking. Aunt Andrea went through the armoire and Uncle Brady had added shelving in the bathroom the night before. It’s officially official y’all. I’m staying! Of course, Alaska is still the plan. I wouldn’t trade that opportunity for the world. But Ontario is pretty much ridiculously awesome, and I couldn’t be happier with my decision to stay.

Friday night was so fun(ny). Ever heard of Fantasia? A bunch of ladies in the small town of Sunderland got together to drink wine and enjoy each other’s presence in the company of a business representative from a concept that entertains guests into a night of fun that is far “from boring and mundane”. We learned all about subject matter too mature for blog life – and I’m happy to say that I was the youngest there. I love hanging out with women twice my age. There is a lot to learn from them. I have always identified with those older than me – and that night was a massive indicator of such. I had SO much fun. I met one woman who practices reiki, and another who works for BeachBody (P90X, HipHop Abs, Insanity…), and another who breeds French Bulldogs and owns a grooming business here in town. What a dynamic group!

Fantasia.

We had a blast, and I got to hang out with Gina more. I love Gina. Gina is my Aunt Andi’s soul mate. I have NO idea why my friends ever called me Google, because this woman knows everything. She taught me about the “Spank Bank”, which I promised I would put in the blog. Yeah… I’d never heard the term “Spank Bank”. Now I seem to be hearing it everywhere… hahaha.

Before the Fantasia Party, we had Sri Lankan hor d’oeuvres. Samosas and spring rolls… and some pancake thing that was spicy and delicious. Let me tell you what though. Those samosas?! Raving reviews. I just have no idea where Uncle B got them. The night after penis pencils and red wine came mojitos and slots. Well, okay. I didn’t play slots. But Gina and Aunt Andi did – an activity which I will surely be engaged in once I get a little cash flow 😉

On our mojito game.

On our mojito game.

Shae-Lyn and I decided it was time to put our mallow-roasting skills to practice. Uncle B built us an awesome fire while we walked to Pinders (the Esso, or Exxon in American terms, right around the corner). We snagged some Cadbury chocolate and came back to make an awesome batch of s’mores.

Want a s'more? Some more of what?

“Wanna s’more?” “Some more of what?”

The night was late, and resulted in quite the sleep in. Olivia’s body is being strange. It’s actually sleeping. Is this like, life after university? I am not sure. But I am tired ALL of the time. Father’s Day was fun. I managed to keep myself pretty distracted with sushi, trips to Lindsay, weaving dreamcatchers, and food. Curry… so good. Uncle B made me my own pot of vegetarian, dairy-free curry complete with tofu. This man loves the kitchen, and I have zero complaints whatsoever. He infused the Basmati rice with lime zest, people. Lime. Zest. He’s a boss.

The night, we indulged in the MMVA’s (Much Music Video Awards). MuchMusic is essentially the Canadian MTV. They have MTV up here, but it isn’t as full of necessary information at MuchMusic is. Lorde, Hedley, Imagine Dragons, and Ariana Grande performed. All were acceptable performances, and now I really want to see Lorde live. That girl is a badass.

It was Sunday night that my toe decided to b-r-e-a-k. I walked into the tiny little coffee table chillin’ in the middle of the living room. It never moves. It’s always there. But damn sure enough – I walked right into it. Wanna see?

The pinky toe. The second toe is genetically crooked. Oh well!

The pinky toe. The second toe is genetically crooked. Oh well!

She’s taped up now. It’s all good. That’s how my life works. As Jay-Z would say… “Onto the next one.” Seriously – if you don’t know me… I break a lot of bones.

Shae and I made peanut butter cookies yesterday, and I went to hang out with Blaine and his friend Fred. These peanut butter cookies are ridiculous. They require like 1 cup peanut butter, ½  cup sugar, and 1 egg.
We added chunks of chocolate leftover from our s’mores, and that was pretty much the greatest idea ever.

Oh, Kraft. I agree with your cookie ways.

Oh, Kraft. I agree with your cookie ways.

Last night, I was so excited about training today at Harp & Wylie’s that I knew I wouldn’t sleep. I took a sleeping pill at 11. It helps subside the anxiety that overwhelms my attempts at REM, and usually enables me to sleep easy. This was not so last night – and I have literally slept all day. Today resulted in a total lack of productivity from a physical aspect, and more so a lot of mental occupation. It’s been a weird day.

I ended this weird day a trip to Uxbridge with Shae. We explored their ginormous LCBO, and found a wine on Harp & Wylie’s wine list. Tonight, I tried the Flatroof Manor Merlot from South Africa. It was a great red. Honestly, I expected a lot more depth from something with the “merlot” classification. But it was deliciously light – a good menu wine. Aunt Andi pointed out that an aftertaste was nearly nonexistent, and it would pair very well with all kinds of food. Hence, a good “menu wine”.

The merlot and the notes.

The merlot and the notes.

Shae and I were enthused by the idea of a punnett square to explain the phenotypic and genotypic ratios for the peony flowers that have cross-pollinated right before our eyes! I am not sure how successful we were… but I am pretty certain the genotypic ratio was correct…

Big "P", little "p".

Big “P”, little “p”.

So here I am… about to sleep another night in my lovely dorm room. Yes, that’s what we’re calling it.
I have a whole list of things to do this summer, and I can’t wait to knock them out. There’s the Haliburton Wolf Reserve, Ripley’s Aquarium, the Medieval Times Restaurant, Yellow Cottage, and hiking, hiking, and hiking. It’s going to rule! Here’s to getting some sleep now! Buenas noches, readers.

Until next time…

...you can wish you had this  s'more....

…you can wish you had this s’more….

Leave a Reply

