gypsy

Well, my friends… the time has come for me to pack up the CR-V and continue on my journey to Alaska.

Since my last post, I have been just living life Ontario style.
I have been exercising again and have SO much energy! Work is easier and my sleeps are better.

My coffee consumption has increased though :/ But that’s not really my fault.
It’s Tassimo’s fault.
I thought I liked the Keurig, but goodness gracious – this thing rules. Between Aunt Andi, Uncle B, and myself… our mornings result in what I like to call the “Tower O’ Tassimos”. See for yourself.

The Tower.

The Tower.

Along with the coffee, I have become a little bit obsessed with beets. Weird, I know. It always makes me think of Doug. Do you remember Doug? From the 90’s? They lived in a town called Bluffington, and everyone was just in love with beets. That’s all I really remember… and the theme song. And there was a band in the show called “The Beets”, which I now realize was a spin off of “The Beatles”. Hahahaha, oh the things you realize when you’re older!

I have been roasting beets and putting them in my smoothies and on salads. Although they are higher in carbohydrates, they are still really good for you, as long as you eat them conservatively. I picked some up at the Farmer’s Market in Port Perry and then at a fruit & vegetable stand near Sharbot Lake, where we vacationed last week. You might think beets in smoothies is a freaking weird concept, but they’re so sweet, it’s the best way to mix things up without getting all wacky on your ingredients! Beets are great for mental health, detoxification, energy, and more!

He's right. He's very, very right.

He’s right. He’s very, very right.

I don’t think I’ve even blogged about the wolves yet, I’ve only posted pictures on my Facebook!
I am losing track of what I write about…
The Hailburton Wolf Centre was absolutely amazing. It is a place where wolf populations are being restructured and cared for. I got some really great pictures (in my opinion), but my favo(u)rite is definitely the one I call “Big Yawns”. I love it so so much. Thanks again Mommy and Dave for my wicked camera.

Check out those teeth!

Check out those teeth!

Along with the Haliburton Wolf Centre, Uncle B and I took a great little tour of his and my mother’s childhood. I got to see the house that she grew up in. I’ve seen it before. Now that I am older though, and I’ve gone through the same hardships of leaving the comfiness that I grew up knowing, seeing that house held a completely meaning. Even though I’ve been through it, and I’m completely okay, my heart still couldn’t help but ache for my mom and everyone. None of them ever really let go of Haliburton, but a the time, it was necessary in my grandparent’s opinion to leave.

How cool is this… my Uncle Brady told me about this thing called a Sky Slider they used to have access to. Their house was up on a huge hill and there’s a lookout that enables you to see all of Haliburton from above. Near this lookout, there was an installment of, well… I guess transportation? This thing was apparently a huge concrete slide that began at the top of the hill, and finished at the bottom of the hill which was handily in the middle of town. Uncle Brady said that, because they lived at the top, they’d buy down tickets and up tickets, instead of the rest of the town who’d buy the reverse. That just cracks me up. Not to mention, NO ONE WORE HELMETS. Kay, I am ALL about some fun. I ride motorcycles for crying out loud. But everyone riding these things were tiny and it required the operation of a cart thingy. It’s easier to just show you a picture.

How incredibly safe.

How incredibly safe.

While exploring the forest, we found old pieces of the slide. That’s pretty freaking cool. We also went and ate a place that had the best, gluten-filled Fish n’ Chips ever. Fish n’ Chips are a big thing here in Ontario. Sometimes, I have to put the gluten-intolerance on the back burner and suffer through the stomach problems the day after. AND IT’S SO WORTH IT. When I get to Alaska, I’m going to find a really great gluten-free fish batter recipe and make a whole bunch of epic stuff! Pow!

After the trip to Hailburton, Shae-Lyn and I got to go see Tegan & Sara. Words can’t explain my joy. I cried… a lot. This was a free concert. Basically, since the 10th grade, I have had multiple opportunities to see them. It always involved traveling though, or booking off work, paying tons of money I didn’t have, or just didn’t work out overall. But this time! PATIENCE PAYS. I automatically had the day off work. The show was free. And I was with my cousin! Like, how freaking awesome is that? I love these ladies.

Hotties.

Hotties.

The rest of that week, we geared up for time at the cottage in Sharbot Lake. I arrived up there last Sunday and was immediately floored by my surroundings. LOONS EVERYWHERE! I got there late enough to hear them reconvening with their partners. That’s what they’re doing when they are singing their beautiful songs! Aside from the Common loons, I saw things like crawfish in Canada (which was weird, considering the presence they have in the dirty south), my Auntie and Uncle found me an AmeriCanadian flag that I am SO pumped about, I started some real fishing lessons and caught a TON of weeds.

Ummm… I forgot about this moment. As I’m pulling into the road that leads to the Yellow Cottage, I see my Aunt Andrea. She is wearing a hoodie in a flattering shade of pink… and then I see the logo on this sweatshirt.

OLE MISS.

The woman bought it just to get at me. It worked. What a meanie. But I will say that being a defensive Bulldog the whole visit there made me feel all warm and fuzzy. I love my Mississippi State.

I also caught some bass, a perch, a pike, some rock bass, and….. a sunfish (hahah). I can’t wait for Alaskan fishing adventures!
My Uncle bought me my first rod. It’s an Abu Garcia and is very easy to use. I bought myself a ton of lures, and I am just way way way too excited about it. Like look how nerdily happy I am…

Maybe one day, Rapala will sponsor me :)

Maybe one day, Rapala will sponsor me 🙂

One of the crappy days of weather, we journeyed to… umm… I don’t remember the city name. But it was big… OH! Kingston! Right? Anyways, Uncle B gets a little stir crazy while on vacation, and his project this go round was a new bench for the back of the Glastron (the boat). It turned out beautifully, but the venture to get materials was interesting. I fell asleep on the way there. But I know he found foam somewhere. He went to a Fabricland, and Shae and I found matching Star Wars watches. We also bought The Children some cookies! They were expensive as all get out. But I couldn’t resist!

A princess indeed.

A princess indeed.

I could go on and on about the all of the awesome things we did there, but I’ll just post some of my favor(u)rite pictures instead.

Sleepy bear. And the dogs.

Sleepy bear. And the dogs.

I love Brandy. She is finally snuggling.

I love Brandy. She is finally snuggling.

Our view.

Our view.

Our view...

Our view…

Our... wait for it... view.

Our… wait for it… view.

Gavia immer.

Gavia immer.

I, unfortunately, had to leave Yellow Cottage early to come back to work. Not without one more camp pie though! We had this thing that was made of cast iron. You put two pieces of bread in it, and stuff those pieces of bread with anything you want. I had peanut butter, chocolate, and marshmallow. It was perfect.

But the good news is that I’ve saved enough money to make it home while everyone else has been at the lake! The time by myself has been nice (albeit a little creepy in this house alone) but it has lent me a lot of moments to reflect on my summer. I seriously cannot believe my time here has come and gone so quickly! I am looking the rubbermaid tubs of stuff I have to put back into my precious Sophie. It seems like yesterday that Blaine and his friend Josh helped me take it all out. Actually, it seems like just yesterday that my roof rack flew off of my car on the way to Memphis.

I see Jessica, my love, in a matter of weeks. I see mi madre, hermanas, hermanastro, and padrastro in a matter of days! SO CRAZY! #sorryifyouareannoyedbymySpanish

The brightness to all of my days.

The brightness to all of my days.

Hermanastro. I love him!

Hermanastro. I love him!

Then after that, I see Alaska! FINALLY! I am at the point where I go to my school’s website like every day, just to learn another new thing about the campus. Cannon’s managed to meet some kid who’s headed up there for school too. I am hoping to find him at the gym when I get to St. Albert and bond with him over excitement for outdoors life and Alaskan ways! I am such a geek, goodness gracious.

Words can’t explain how grateful I am to have had the summer I did here in Ontario. My next post will more than likely be from a hotel along the great lakes, halfway between here and Pangman, Saskatchewan. That just made me feel a little sick. I’m excited. But I really don’t like the thought of hugging them all goodbye.

Until then, I am going to go get my sweat on with another workout from Way of Gray. Seriously, check this girl’s stuff out if you’re ready to re-vamp your fitness routine. I’ll be the crazy chick doing these workouts at a rest stop along my journey! Picture that. Hahaha. Comical.

www.wayofgray.com >> eBooks are on sale!

http://www.wayofgray.com >> eBooks are on sale!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

