About

olivia katherine

Bio: Hola! My name is Olivia, and I'm here to share my adventures. I grew up in Memphis, Tennessee. When I was 14 years old, my father was killed in a tragic pedestrian accident, and my family moved to Canada the year after (mom is Canadian). I did all four years of high school there at Caronport High School in Saskatchewan. These were a unique four years, and I can say that I loved and learned from all of them. Junior year though, I started to feel a call back to the South. I applied to one school for post-secondary education, and that was Mississippi State University. I got in. Ever since the ripe old age of 8, I have wanted to practice Veterinary Medicine. For the last four years, I have been pursuing a degree in Wildlife, Fisheries, and Aquaculture Sciences: Pre-Veterinary Medicine with a minor in Biological Sciences. About halfway through my undergraduate career though, I realized that vet school was not something I was ready for yet. The idea of walls for another four years, and a career that demanded my every minute for two decades after that, just wasn't appealing any longer. I wanted something else. I was relaying these thoughts to my academic advisor (a kindred spirit), Dr. Donald Jackson. I'll remember the moment very well for the rest of my life - he presented me with the idea of the Peace Corps. The Peace Corps offers a program called the "Master's International Program"... I decided this was for me. The University of Alaska Fairbanks has a program for a Master's Degree in Natural Resource Management, and this can be applied to the international part of the Peace Corps program. Imagine my joy when I found this out! I spent my senior year of school at State applying, interviewing, and communicating for positions with both UAF and the US Peace Corps. I am proud to say that I'm headed to Alaska in the fall, and after a year of that, will hopefully be headed overseas for a project to better the world. This blog is mostly going to be devoted to my adventures. I start all of this with a 57-hour solo road trip, which I am beyond excited for. Then a summer with my older sister and her man, another kindred spirit of mine 🙂 If I don't post about adventures outdoors, it will most likely be a post devoted to overcoming some obstacles I have in life. I'm eager to share it all. I've got my camera ready, and my MacBook is charged to be put to good use. Let's get to exploring. It's time! "Planets in Gemini will be colored by the qualities of: changeable curiosity, talkativeness, and friendliness."

View complete profile

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s